Skip links

Capital and Administrative Districts


The capital of the DPRK is Pyongyang.
In Pyongyang, the cradle land of the Korean nation and the heart of the Korean revolution, there are Mangyongdae where President Kim Il Sung was born and fostered a lofty aim of revolution, and the Kumsusan Palace of the Sun in which President Kim Il Sung and General Kim Jong Il are preseNed in their lifetime appearances.

There are also the buildings of the Central Committee of the Workers’ Party of Korea, organizer and guide of the Korean people for all victories, and the  Government of the DPRK.

Pyongyang is the political centre of the country and the hub of science, education and culture, and it has modern heavy industry, light industry and agriculture. Kim Il Sung Square is in the heart of the capital city.

Its typical streets include Mansudae, Changjon, Ryomyong, Mirae Scientists, Chollima, Pipha, Ragwon, Chongnyon, Changgwang, Kumsong, Pulgun, Sungni, Kaeson, Kwangbok, Thongil, Munsu and An Sang Thaek, all boasting modern structures, high-rise apartment blocks and monumental creations.

What attracts public attention are the statues of Generalissimos Kim Il Sung and Kim Jong Il erected on Mansu Hill, Tower of the Juche Idea, Arch of Triumph, Chollima Statue, Monument to the Victorious Fatherland liberation War, Monument to Party Founding and Monument to Three Charters for National Reunification. Structures of a peculiar architectural design include the Korean Revolution Museum, Three-Revolution Exhibition House, Korean Central History Museum, Korea Fine Art Museum, Victorious Fatherland Liberation War Museum, Sci-Tech Complex, Grand People’s Study House, Pyongyang Grand Theatre, People’s Theatre, Taedongmun Cinema House, Pyongyang Maternity Hospital, Ryugyong General Ophthalmic Hospital, Pyongyang Koryo Hotel, Yanggakdo International Hotel, Kwangbok Area Supermarket and Pyongyang Metro.

Pyongyang is literally a city in a park. It abounds in parks and resorts­Rungna People’s Recreation Ground, Mangyongdae Amusement Park, Kaeson Youth Park, Taesongsan Pleasure Ground, Munsu Water Park, Mirim Riding Club, Mirim Aviation Club and Meari Shooting Gallery.

Moran Hill with picturesque scenery, the Taedong and Pothong rivers, Ryongaksan Pleasure Ground and other parks built across the capital city add beauty to Pyongyang.

Pyongyang with a 5 000-year-long history has many historical relics and remains.
There are the Mausoleum of Tangun, the founder-king of the Korean nation, Mausoleum of Tongmyong, the founder-king of Koguryo, the site of Anhak Royal Palace, sites of the Walled City of Pyongyang and such relics as the Taedong Gate, Pothong Gate, Chilsong Gate, Ulmil Pavilion, Choesung Pavilion, Ryongwang Pavilion, Pubyok Pavilion and Chongnyu Pavilion.

Everything in Pyongyang is changing by the day with the advent of a golden age in construction.

Administrative Districts

The DPRK’s administrative system consists of nine provinces, three special municipalities, 200-odd cities {districts) and counties, thousands of ri, and workers’ districts and dong.

🍪 This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.